90s

Myst is greater than or equal to Lost

I have a theory about that TV show, Lost. (Which I refuse to partake in.) The reason everyone is so lost watching it, is because the characters are really inside that ’90s computer game, Myst.

In 1991, the graphic animation computer game, Myst was created by brothers Robyn and Rand Miller. Myst is the name of an island your character mysteriously drops into. No, honestly, you fall from out of thin air. I did not play Myst. However, my mom did. I mean every single time I walked into her office, she’d be staring blankly at her computer screen, a blur of greens and greys with pitiful sound effects that came from out of the woodwork to wake you up. I never understood what the goal was. She just searched for….something, silently.

From what I could gather, the point of the game was to follow clues left behind by some other character. I think some clues uncovered a little backstory about the island and experiments that occurred in one of its tree house lab looking pods, but still cryptic and pointless nonetheless. Let me reiterate: the island is deserted. There is no interaction with any other character. There is also no threat of dying, unlike the Sierra computer game, King’s Quest, which I adored and played for months on end, restoring each big play to ensure the life of Gram. (When a character dies in an action-packed computer game…a grim tombstone and that somber DOS style music is the last thing you need.)

Playing Myst is like watching a screen saver on your computer dart around for a while. Or, watching laundry in the washing machine swash about. Seriously, writers for Lost, get your heads out of the clouds and have one character say: “I feel like we’re in Myst” and then BAM! Suddenly, the point to that game is explained, a treasure box opens, the sun shines, a plane flies overhead, and you can all go home.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Myst is greater than or equal to Lost

  1. If you neither watch LOST or play Myst, how can you have a theory on either of them? (My brother played Myst and MAN did I wish I was smart enough to solve those puzzles!!)

    Posted by Ali | February 7, 2010, 8:32 pm
    • Eh, easily. My theorizing is mere sarcastic speculation…I’m not making a scholarly observation by any means. Just poking a little humor at the people I know who do watch it.

      I attempted to play Myst on more than one occasion, but I was no match for my mom’s Myst skills.

      Posted by thehoff | February 8, 2010, 2:59 am
  2. You do interact with other characters in Myst. There just aren’t very many of them. And the creators of Lost have gone on record saying that they were heavily influenced by Myst and video games in general while writing the show. It’s an old point-and-click adventure, and primitive compared to today’s standards, but if you like puzzle games, it’s one of the best.

    Posted by brien | December 1, 2011, 6:51 am

Leave a Reply

